Floating Music was commissioned by Spectrum and was first performed at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in 1974 conducted by Guy Protheroe.

The work has a distinct Polish influence both in notation and textural manipulation. The piece is primarily concerned with the blending of instrumental timbres that fuse and merge in a continuous stream of changing environments.

The name Floating Music refers to the gentle flowing atmosphere of the music and the method of composition. Ripples of sound float from one texture to another. The musical material, small phrases, isolated notes and tremolos, are rotated (floated) around the ensemble. It is a peaceful work that slowly explores different textures and the colour potential of the ensemble. Perhaps like water and its many aspects, icy cold textures and sparkling florid tremolos, a kaleidoscope of ever-changing colours of sound. The number six plays an important part in the construction of the work. It is scored for six players, has a six-note motif, six levels of dynamics, six levels of attack, six types of texture, and finally, the overall shape is in six sections


Written 1974

Instrumental Ensemble. Flute/Clarinet/Violin/Cello/Piano (dbl Celeste)/Percussion
Length 13′

Commission: Spectrum
Dedication: ‘To Ann and Guy’
Publisher: Josef Weinberger

Share This