Conversations was written in 1974 for Robert Bramley and first performed by him that year at the Wigmore Hall. It is a virtuoso work utilising the dexterity of both performers. The piece is in three contrasting movements: an aggressive opening movement containing wide intervals and angular rhythms is followed by a dreamy second, in which the legato qualities of the two instruments are used. The work ends with a fiery showpiece full of cross-rhythms and glissandi. All three movements make extensive use of the interplay between the clarinet and piano, hence the title `Conversations’.


Slow movement of Conversations performed by Dawid Jarzynski, clarinet and Ryu Saito, piano




Written 1974

Wind and Piano Duo
Clarinet and Piano
Length 10′

Commission:  Robert Bramley
Dedication: ‘To Robert Bramley’
Publisher: Josef Weinberger

Share This