I. False Impressions; II. Mindscape; III. Beneath the Surface

The Allusions Trio is a virtuoso piece for two violins and piano and is based on Patterson’s original double violin concerto with orchestra.
This work owes its existence to three operatic characters, each of which are given musical characterisations.
Love and/or seduction play a major part in these character’s lives.
The first movement False Impressions combines an energetic and extremely rhythmic dialogue between the two violinists with a lively piano accompaniment. It is inspired by the character of Sir John Falstaff, with musical material based on the fugue from the finale of Verdi’s opera, Falstaff
The meditative second movement, Mindscape, inherits the dark world of Don Giovanni’s meeting with the Commendatore. Long melodic lines weave their way through a labyrinth of deep and reflective harmony giving an alluring, graceful and a powerful presence.
The sprightly third movement, Beneath the Surface, quotes directly from Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro.
It is a fast moving extravaganza that demonstrates the power and agility of each instrument. The mood is bright and humorous with dazzling rhythmic exchanges between the three players, and finishes in a virtuosic manner!
Allusions Trio was written for Midori Komachi & Sophie Rosa (violins) & Simon Callaghan (Piano)

Reworking of Allusions for piano trio


Written 2017

String and Piano Trio
Two Violins and Piano

Length 16′

Commission: Medical Music Society of London
Dedication: David Green
Publisher: Josef Weinberger

World Premiere
Royal Overseas League, London, 6th April 2017
MIidori Komachi and Sohpie Rosa, violins / Simon Callaghan, piano

Share This