I. The Dancing White Lady; II. The Red-backed Spider; III. The Black Widow; IV. Tarantula

The “Spider’s Web” takes the form of a mini concerto in 4 movements for solo harp and string orchestra. It is based on “Spiders” for solo harp written in 1985 which has since become popular amongst harpists internationally!
The solo harp part is virtually the same as the original Spiders, with only a few additions. The orchestra accompanies the harp with added introductions, comments and interludes.
The movements are named after four of the most deadly spiders!
I. Dancing White Lady
II. Red Backed Spider
III. Black Widow
IV. Tarantula
The “Dancing White Lady” is a fast 7/8 movement with lots of crossed rhythms that weave between the orchestra and the soloist.
The second movement starts with a calm orchestral introduction giving the sense of peace. The harp interrupts this calm atmosphere with sharp irregular motives that represent the “Red Backed Spider” who sits patiently for its prey before it strikes with great speed.
In the “Black Widow” movement we enter the mysterious world of timelessness as the spider relentlessly weaves its web.
The last movement a tarantella is a wild Neapolitan dance in triple time; It is believed to take its name from the “Tarantula” whose poisonous bite is said causes a “hysterical impulse to dance”!
(c) Paul Patterson, January 2014
Programme notes may be reproduced in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Remy van Kesteren, harp
Ivan Markovic, conductor
RTS orchestra

Veronika Lemishenko – Harp
Alexey Dorkin – conductor
Ural Youth orchestra


Written 2013

Solo harp and string orchestra
Length 14′

Commission:  Alvarez Chamber Orchestra & PRS Foundation
Dedication: ‘To Gwyneth Wentink’
Publisher: Universal Edition

World Premiere
Stadtsaal, Kufstein, Austria, 25th May 2013
Gryneth Wentink (harp) / Cappella Istropolitana / Bernhard Sieberer

Share This