I. Interplay; II. Pastorale; III. Allegro Vivo

Cracowian Counterpoints was conceived and sketched out while the composer was on a visit to Poland and staying in the old city of Cracow. The work was commissioned by the London Sinfonietta specially for performance at their Queen’s Silver Jubilee Concert at the Queen Elizabeth Hall.

The three movements are linked by the interval of the sixth: in the first there are two ideas – fanfare-like flourishes with repeated notes contrasting syncopated block chords, both on sixths. The harmony in the second is less dissonant though still based on the same interval. In the energetic last movement the sixth is now reduced to a minor third to facilitate rapid articulation of small phrases, and is at the same time an expression of the individual voices drawing
closer together.

Revised in 1978



Written 1977

Large Ensemble. 1(dbl Picc).1.1.1/ (
Length 20′

Commission: London Sinfonietta
Dedication: ‘To Michael Vyner’
Publisher: Josef Weinberger

Share This