I. False Impressions; II. Mindscape; III. Beneath the Surface

Programme note
Paul Patterson has had a long relationship with the world of the string instrument. Works like the Sinfonia for Strings, and his concertos for solo Violin, Viola & Cello are central to his instrumental output. Allusions  was commissioned by the Orchestra of the Swan to celebrate Paul’s 60th birthday, and was given its premiere with soloist, David Le Page and Cathy Leech, conducted by David Curtis.

Allusions is a real show piece for the two soloists with lots of chasing between them and the orchestra, combined with a very lively orchestral accompaniments to the dialogue between the two soloists.”  This cleverly thought out work owes its existence to three operatic characters, each of which are given musical characterisation in an appropriate, musically speaking, stylistic manner. Love and/or seduction play a major part these character’s lives.

False Impressions, the first movement, depicts Sir John Falstaff, with the musical material based on the fugue from the finale of Verdi’s opera. The introspective second movement, Mindscape, inherits the dark world of Don Giovanni’s meeting with the Commendatore whilst the sprightly third movement, Beneath the Surface, quotes directly from Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro.

© Lewis Mitchell

Also available in a version for 2 violins and piano:

Allusions Trio


Written 2006

Two Solo Violins and String Orchestra

Length 18′

Commission:  Orchestra of the Swan
Dedication: ‘To David Curtis’
Publisher: Josef Weinberger

First Performance
Townsend Hall, Shipston-on-Stour, Warwickshire, 9th Mar 2007
David le Page and Cathy Leech, violins / Orchestra of the Swan / Nicholas Cleobury

Share This